Four stages of competence

The Four Stages of Learning provides a model for learning. It suggests that individuals are initially unaware of how little they know, or unconscious of their incompetence. As they recognize their incompetence, they consciously acquire a skill, then consciously use it. Eventually, the skill can be utilized without it being consciously thought through: the individual is said to have then acquired unconscious competence.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
This entry was posted in 5x7, experience, school. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Four stages of competence

  1. Richard says:

    whoooo baby… coo dose … that one blew it out of the ballpark – I’m thinking from now on: no more talk to the hand but ABCD. If people ask what I’m on about then I’m going to say check out the four stages competence @thisisindexed !!!

  2. protoopus says:

    the structure of your thought reminded me of this:

    “There are three mental states that interest me. These are: one, amnesia; two, euphoria; three, ecstasy. Amnesia is not knowing who one is and wanting desperately to find out. Euphoria is not knowing who one is and not caring. Ecstasy is knowing exactly who one is – and still not caring.”
    ― Tom Robbins

    • Richard says:

      which state are u in protopus? – I’d have to edit: ecstasy – thinking you know everything except yourself and being totally confused by emotive words like caring – still good quote. I’ll steal that and use it later

  3. Pingback: The Four Stages Of Competence |

  4. David says:

    Shouldn’t the progress be A->B->C or A->D->C
    or at Least A->B->D->C

    Or don’t we care?